Skip to Main Content

2019 ILS Training: To Do + Votes

Action Tasks

 

             Tasks Status
  • Implement user online registration for all libraries.
 Implemented for all MCCS libraries.  May have to make adjustments based on input from libraries.
  • Offline configuration files (verifylist, etc) set up.
 Documented
  • Consortial groups & consortial membership
 Implemented for SC, NC and Hawaii.  Any other takers?
  • Item Type, Location, and Library policy descriptions display within Checkout, Discharging and Item Search & Display wizards.
 See votes below
  • Prefer onshelf items having most or least recent activity
 See votes below
  • Renewal options:  due date or date of renewal.  Only allow unseen renewals within these number of days before due date (0 or a positive value).  Options selected now in circulation rules are: "Date of renewal" and "0".
 See votes below
  • Patrons' favorites (User Registration Wizard > Defaults > Track charges as favorites>

    Example:
    Winter, Jeanette, author|
    Matisse, Henri, 1869-1954 Juvenile literature|
    Artists France Biography Juvenile literature|
    Friendship in children Juvenile fiction|
    Geese Juvenile fiction|
    Loneliness Fiction|
    Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865 Juvenile literature|
    Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865 Childhood and youth Juvenile literature|
    Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865 Books and reading Juvenile literature|
    Presidents United States Biography Juvenile literature|
    Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865 Childhood and youth|
    Carpenter, Nancy, ill|
    Adler, David A|
    Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865 Pictorial works Juvenile literature|
    Presidents United States Pictorial works Juvenile literature|
    Wallner, John C , ill|
    Wallner, Alexandra, ill|
  • New "Remove Deleted Resources Report" to be scheduled to conserve space on the Symphony system
 Scheduled
  • Requests in Enterprise (recommendations, suggestions, ILL, orders, etc)
 Implemened for San Diego and Kaneohe Bay.
  • Enterprise Bookriver /Bulletin Heading/598 tag Enterprise
 Implemented for Cherry Point
  • Automatic renewals -- do we need to exclude any libraries?  How about pre-notification?
 Implemented since 02/18.  Any enhancements, optimizations, exceptions?
  • Purge Inactive Holds?  What time frame?
 Implemented.  One year.
  • Privileges for public and web/PAC accounts are set to expire within 3 years.
 Implemented
  • Time-consuming reports:

    02:21:04 mccs2excel:"FutNIL8May"

    01:04:52 bibliography:"JE Pull List 11/11"

    01:02:45 bibload:"XXOVERDRIVE OCLC Bibload"

    01:01:35 bibliography:"Inventory"

    00:56:22 bibliography:"JE Pull List 11/11"

    00:51:54 bibliography:"JE Pull List 11/11"

    00:50:33 invxmllist:"$<list_inventory_xml>"

    00:50:11 bibliography:"JE Pull List 11/11"

    00:42:12 printlabels:"$<print_custom_labels>"

    00:34:39 bibliography:"JE Pull List 11/11"

    00:34:23 mccs2excel:"Findit-July"

    00:33:31 itemstat:"circ Statistics"

    00:33:13 bibliography:"Inventory"

    00:28:50 mccs2excel:"Findit-June"

    00:28:31 bibliography:"JE Pull List 11/11"

    00:28:18 itemstat:"circ Statistics"

    00:26:40 itemstat:"circ Statistics"

    00:26:00 printlabels:"$<print_custom_labels>"

    00:25:09 charges2excel:"Hansen Overdue"

    00:24:38 charges2excel:"Hansen Overdue"

    00:24:00 charges2excel:"Hansen Overdue"

    00:23:42 charges2excel:"Hansen Overdue"

    00:23:40 charges2excel:"Hansen Overdue"

    00:23:21 printlabels:"$<print_custom_labels>"

    00:22:47 bibliography:"JE Pull List 11/11"

    00:22:41 charges2excel:"Hansen Overdue"

    00:22:17 charges2excel:"Hansen Overdue"

    00:22:10 charges2excel:"Hansen Overdue"

    00:21:57 remdiscard:"XRemove DISCARD Items"

    00:21:16 bibliography:"JE Pull List 11/11"

    00:21:10 bibliography:"JE Pull List 11/11"
  • Records with **REQUIRED FIELD** titles need to be purged from the catalog.
 Removed all orphaned records.
  • Hold wrapper
 Documented.  Please see Holds manual.
  • Pickup library issue for multi-branch/multi-location libraries.
 Butler, Pendleton and Lejeune (maybe 29 Palms).
  • CALLCHANGE (Semper FintIt! Conversion) location.  Shadowed policy.
 Solution suggested for Butler.
  • New demographic fields for patron records such as gender (male, female,other), age (preschool,6-12, 12-17,18-21, 22-30,31-40, 41-50, 51+, Retired), Retired/Active, etc.
 See votes below
  • User announcements -- holiday greetings, welcome messages, new acquisitions, services, programs & services, etc. 
 Used by Lejeune, Camp Johnson and Iwakuni.
  • Charge History
 Feature enabled in Symphony.  Default is off. (Item ID: 964374-1001 charged to either PEN_GRANDMA/PA).  This feature has been disabled at the request of all librarians present at the training.
  • Any adjustments for libraries using the "User Claims Returned" feature  -- overdue notices, reports, etc? 

Miscellaneous:

  • Add neighborhoods to Enterprise?
  • Spine labels anybody?
  • New record format for library events/programs
  • Removing old/obsolete location policies (like locations from item information)
  • Search buttons, lists, widgets in Enterprise
  • Ephemeral, Discharging Bookdrop & Friends.
  • SMS Text messaging

10,000 Messages per year - $1,000/yr

25,000 Messages per year - $1,500/yr

50,000 Messages per year -  $2,000/yr

100,000 Messages per year -  $3,000/yr

250,000 Messages per year - $5,000/yr

500,000 Messages per year - $8,000/yr                        

Plus a one-time installation cost of $650, but after that the cost would just be the annual subscription.  

  
  • Do we need to combine the Juvenile and Adult Semper FindIt! keys?  
 Should we combine the documentation?
  • Discarded items under Serial Control (special cases of Pendleton and Miramar)

     2 BEAUFORT
          8 BUTLER
          3 CHERRY_PNT
          3 IWAKUNI
          8 JOHNSON
         83 MIRAMAR
          1 PARRIS_ISL
      14474 PENDLETON
          7 YUMA
 Will need to work with individual libraries.  Most of these locked records are related to old serial control entries which need to be purged from the system.
  • Override Operators
 Implemented new Override operator.  Do we need to protect any other functionalities in WorkFlows?

ATLAS_TBL
AWARD
BOOK_MOB1
BOOK_MOB2
​CHILDREN
COLLEGE
CULTURECTR
​CURRENTISS
DIGITAL
EBRARY
ERAU
​ILL_RECORD
MARCENT
MCAS
​MEDICAL
NIL
ONLINE
STORAGE_BR
STORAGE_MS
STORAGE_SM
STORAGE_SS

 

Other than "NIL", these location policies have been removed from Symphony because they are rarely used or not used at all.  Anything else we need to remove?  Here is a list of the existing location policies along with the total number of entries in the catalog:

LOCATION:TOTAL
AUDIOBOOKS: 9887
AVAIL_SOON: 0
BASE_BRIG: 1759
BINDERY: 4
BIOGRAPHY: 3335
BOOKMOBILE: 10635
BOOK_CLUB: 379
BRIEF: 11
BUTBIBLOAD: 202
CALLCHANGE: 39293
CATALOGING: 26
CD_ROM: 186
CHECKEDOUT: 0
CIRC_DESK: 1465
CMC: 7126
COURTNEY: 30492
DEPLOYMENT: 249
DISCARD: 2162
DISPLAY: 80
DVD_ROOM: 8249
EASY: 24718
EBSCO: 1126
ED_CENTER: 6715
EFMP: 130
FICTION: 61518
FLMC: 11
FORGN_LANG: 577
FOSTER: 57300
FUJI: 7671
FUTENMA: 8747
GALE: 960
GRAPH_NOV: 7196
GUIDES: 85
GUTENBERG: 563
HANSEN: 18064
HOLDS: 0
IESHIMA: 982
ILL: 399
INPROCESS: 1170
INSHIPPING: 0
INTRANSIT: 0
IPAD: 55
JAPAN: 1465
JFBRIG: 1285
JUVENILE: 75081
JWTC: 563
KINSER: 21919
LEASED: 1287
LG_PRNT: 212
LOCAL_HIST: 330
LOCN: 0
LOCN: 0
LOST: 135
LOST-ASSUM: 0
LOST-CLAIM: 1
LOST-PAID: 5
LPC: 144
MAGAZINES: 2016
MAINSIDE: 68476
MAKERSPACE: 268
MARINE_COL: 321
MCI: 37
MC_COLL: 21
MFS: 5
MICROFORM: 627
MISC: 17
MISSING: 76
MOVIES_TV: 43
MUJUK: 4453
MUSIC: 11796
NAVY: 681
NEW_TITLES: 2947
NIL: 0
NONFICTION: 104615
NTA: 8
OFFICE: 2338
ON-ORDER: 290
OPRAH: 23
OVERDRIVE: 21882
OVERDUE: 0
OVERSIZE: 227
PARK: 112
PLAYAWAY: 977
PROCESSING: 4
PROF_COLL: 8105
RBDIGITAL: 18886
READY_REF: 62
REFERENCE: 5805
REPAIR: 10
RESERVES: 4
RESHELVING: 0
SCHWAB: 7308
SEASIDE: 22293
SGT_MAJOR: 34
SHADOW_MNT: 11303
SOUTH_MESA: 22585
SPEC_COLL: 1155
STACKS: 96
STORAGE: 3211
TESTPREP: 2235
TRS: 35
UNKNOWN: 4
VIDEO: 34790
VIDEO_GAME: 2938
WORLDBOOK: 978
YOUNGADULT: 21900

 
Library Hold Expiration This report has been scheduled to clean up inactive holds for all USMC libraries.  Users will be notified that their holds have been canceled/have expired.
Availability Information in Enterprise PAC The option which lists the number of available items in the Enterprise has been suppressed since it was misleading.  The number of available items reflected everything in the system, rather than items of the individual library.  The item information such as call number, location, item type, item ID/barcode, etc. will still display in the PAC.
Make all location policies in the catalog "holdable" or available for holds.

All locations are now holdable, except for the following:

BUTBIBLOAD
CALLCHANGE
DISCARD
EBSCO
GALE
GUTENBERG
LOST-ASSUM
LOST-CLAIM
LOST-PAID
MISSING
NIL
OFFICE
OVERDRIVE
OVERDUE
PROF_COLL
RBDIGITAL
READY_REF
REFERENCE
SPEC_COLL
STORAGE
WORLDBOOK
Remove circulation history Circulation policy has been disabled in Symphony.  Patrons cannot view their old charges and the system will not users if they have already checked out an item.
Is it possible to hide "NEVER" in WorkFlows? Unfortunately, this is linked to the calendar widget and cannot be disabled.
Pin management tool used by Pendleton. Turned off this feature as per Stacey's request.
Implement hold pickup notice for Iwakuni Implemented.
Some ISBN searches not working in the Enterprise PAC when using the new title widget..   This was related to a harvest indexing issue.  Issue has been addressed.  Please let your system admin know if you encounter the same issue in the future.
Expand request information in the Enterprise PAC jQuery has been implemented to expand collapsed information  when viewing existing requests under account in Enterprise PAC.  This will be the default view for all libraries using the request module.
Expand title field in patron's record to 6 characters. This property is hard-coded in Symphony and cannot be changed.  However, other customers have requested the same feature.  Upvoted in SirsiDynix's feature request system in order to have this option implemented in future releases of Symphony.
Add BookMyne to Enterprise PAC. Added to all profiles.  Build links to Android and IOS versions of BookMyne.
MCCS location removal. MCCS as a location policy has been removed from the system.
Ebooks merged with print. Addressed issues.  Created new ONLINE library.
Electronic checkout slips Templates will need to be created to have this option enabled for your library.  Otherwise, the default template will be used which will  not have your library address and contact information.
Some items are not renewed using the daily automatic renewal process. Please see conditions determining automatic renewal here.  The issue seems to be related to holds placed at the item level.  The automatic renewal process was considering holds at the title level resulting in items now renewing if holds were placed on a similar title at a different library.  The scripts have been modified so that only item holds are not considered for renewal in accordance with the new hold policies implemented after our latest ILS training.
Purge new web registration after 3 months of inactivity & help identify duplicates user accounts. In progress.
Publication date in fixed field not displaying in BLUEcloud.  
Add email daemon to request module to enable instantaneous communication.  
Remove serial control records Implemented for Cherry Point.
   

 

 

 

 

Pearls Before Swine by Stephan Pastis  | GoComics.com

Cast Your Votes -- Your Opinion Counts

System policy to place holds on:
Items in circulation: 8 votes (34.78%)
All items : 15 votes (65.22%)
Total Votes: 23


Days for holds to expire:
30 days: 5 votes (19.23%)
60 days: 2 votes (7.69%)
90 days: 4 votes (15.38%)
120 days: 3 votes (11.54%)
182: 9 votes (34.62%)
365: 3 votes (11.54%)
Never: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 26


Days for available holds to expire:
7 days: 21 votes (87.5%)
14 days: 2 votes (8.33%)
21 days: 0 votes (0%)
30 days: 1 votes (4.17%)
Never: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 24


Prefer onshelf items having most or least recent activity?
Prefer onshelf items having most recent activity within the following number of days X: 14 votes (63.64%)
Prefer onshelf items having least recent activity within the following number of days X: 8 votes (36.36%)
Total Votes: 22


Policy Codes or Descriptions?
Item Type, Location, and Library policy descriptions display within Checkout, Discharging and Item Search & Display wizards.: 7 votes (36.84%)
Item Type, Location, and Library policy code display within Checkout, Discharging and Item Search & Display wizards.: 12 votes (63.16%)
Total Votes: 19


Additional renewal options?
Renew from due date: 7 votes (29.17%)
Renew from date of renewal : 17 votes (70.83%)
Total Votes: 24


Pin Hashing/Enhanced security for Policy Pins
Implement: 4 votes (25%)
Keep as is: 12 votes (75%)
Total Votes: 16


Enhance patron record by adding new fields to capture demographic information?
Add a gender field.: 5 votes (16.67%)
Add an age range.: 1 votes (3.33%)
Add both.: 5 votes (16.67%)
Not a good idea.: 19 votes (63.33%)
Total Votes: 30
What shall we call patrons who are lax about returning items on time?
Tardy: 6 votes (18.75%)
Negligent: 8 votes (25%)
User has overdue item(s): 13 votes (40.63%)
Delinquent: 5 votes (15.63%)
Other: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 32