LibGuides: 2019 ILS Training: LibGuides Components

Rich Text/HTML

Italic Title: Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit.

Subtitle: Cras eu pulvinar eros. Maecenas a tortor elementum, egestas velit quis, mollis lorem. Duis lectus lorem, facilisis vitae est at, fermentum cursus ligula.

Special Container: Mauris laoreet lorem nec convallis dictum.

Big: Integer volutpat nulla eu lectus posuere interdum. Donec tincidunt laoreet velit, a porttitor libero facilisis a.

Small: Maecenas tempor elit nec nisl ullamcorper, sit amet eleifend neque aliquam.

Typewriter: Quisque varius sagittis imperdiet.

Computer Code:Donec at lorem eu tellus fermentum bibendum. Vivamus semper tristique ante, a consectetur lacus placerat vitae.

Keyboard Phrase: Duis laoreet pretium nisi, sit amet ornare neque sagittis ut.

Sample Text: Maecenas purus metus, sagittis non erat eget, elementum porttitor metus. Donec in ultricies nunc.

Variable: Aliquam velit risus, posuere eu odio sit amet, accumsan ultrices ipsum.

~~Deleted Text: Duis nec lacinia felis. Curabitur ac eros varius, tempus neque sed, ultrices eros.~~

Cited Work: Sed nunc mi, accumsan ut rutrum vitae, elementum vitae est. Etiam vitae rutrum orci, ut ultrices lectus.

Inline Quotation: Aliquam id sodales eros. Proin luctus dignissim massa, in pellentesque ligula semper eleifend. Suspendisse dapibus varius bibendum.

Language: RTL: Nullam et dui et erat iaculis efficitur. Morbi non consectetur leo. Vestibulum laoreet non tortor ut tempor. Morbi vel arcu tellus. Vivamus ultricies tincidunt felis, sit amet pharetra ligula. Quisque vel sem elit.

Language: LTR: Vestibulum et lacus metus. Nulla in sagittis ipsum. Fusce eu volutpat diam.

<h3>: Nam egestas maximus ultricies. Pellentesque a lorem scelerisque, porta diam sed, pretium est.

<h4>: Quisque sollicitudin ornare elit, sit amet rutrum tortor hendrerit vulputate.

<h5>: Curabitur maximus ultrices turpis, a fermentum neque fringilla quis. Cras id mi vel nisl posuere elementum.

<h6>: Praesent ornare justo sit amet lectus accumsan, ac congue ex suscipit. Nulla sit amet metus sit amet eros vehicula vestibulum.

Formatted: In pulvinar odio vulputate, molestie nibh eu, dictum justo.

Image:

Table:

Aliquam eleifend convallis diam, at vehicula felis blandit et.	Proin volutpat eros in turpis luctus rutrum.
Morbi tortor ante, commodo a aliquet porttitor, luctus nec arcu.	Nam id lacinia risus, et accumsan ex.
Sed ligula eros, aliquam viverra augue at, sodales consectetur orci.	Duis rutrum urna non aliquam lobortis.

Book from the Catalog

A Message to Garcia by Elbert Hubbard
ISBN: 9781599869421

Publication Date: 2006-12-01

This literary trifle, A Message To Garcia, was written one evening after supper, in a single hour. It was on the 22nd of February, 1899, Washington's Birthday. And on an order of the Mikado, a copy was given to every man in the employ of the Japanese Government, soldier or civilian. Over forty million copies of A Message To Garcia have been printed. This is said to be a larger circulation than any other literary venture has ever attained during the lifetime of an author, in all history.

RSS Feed

Database

RBdigital Magazines
The MCCS Library Program is now offering patrons access to digital versions of over 260 magazines. RBdigital Magazines, the world's largest newsstand, offers full-color digital magazines for anytime, anywhere reading on desktops, mobile devices, and apps. Your library's collection of popular digital magazines includes both new and backlist titles with no holds, no checkout periods, and no limits.

Link

Simple Link to the ILS Training Landing Page
A three-day ILS training organized for the Marine Corps Libraries at Cherry Point, NC

Media Widget

Document/File

Offline Module Guide

Guide List

29 Palms Personal and Professional Development LibGuide
by Jeff Fourier Last Updated Sep 11, 2020 244 views this year

Google Search

Tabbed Box

Gallery

Art

Computer

History

Philosophy

Psychology

Religion

Science

Profile

System Administrator

Poll

Enhance patron record to capture demographic information?

Add a gender field.

Add the patron's age range.

Add both.

Not a good idea.

Add a gender field.: 4 votes (44.44%)

Add the patron's age range.: 1 votes (11.11%)

Add both.: 1 votes (11.11%)

Not a good idea.: 3 votes (33.33%)

Total Votes: 9

Remote Script

ajax/libs/scriptaculous/1.9.0/scriptaculous.js">

Adding Font Awesome Icons

Font Awesome is a free suite of scalable vector icons that are easily customizable. The Font Awesome library is fully incorporated into LibGuides. You can use any element by simply calling the icons using their CSS classes.

Example Side-Nav with
Font Awesome Icons

Visit this page to view Font Awesome Library - https://fontawesome.com/ v4.7.0/icons/

To use a Font Awesome Icon, just replace the icon-name value with the Font Awesome name or add the Font Awesome icon name directly from the library.

Databases A-Z

Annals of American History
A year-by-year documentary of American thought and action is presented in this unique resource through the speeches, documents, memoirs, poems, and interviews of more than 1,500 contributors.

ArtistWorks for Libraries
The MCCS Libraries offers ArtistWorks through the Navy Digital Library DoD OverDrive platform site for MWR Libraries. ArtistWorks for Libraries offers instrumental and voice classes, from basic courses to intermediate instruction to advanced lessons. Please visit your MCCS Library for access instructions to the Navy Digital Library and OverDrive account and Libby app setup. Library patrons with no MCCS library available, please contact usmclibraries@usmc.mil to request remote access instructions to ArtistWorks. Please include name, rank or USMC affiliation and duty station in your request.

Britannica Academic
Discover encyclopedia articles, full-text journal and magazine articles, primary sources, multimedia, and other unique resources and tools that make research easier and more productive.

Chilton Library
ChiltonLibrary.com represents the most authoritative automotive repair information available to car owners. There are thousands of year, make and model combinations covering the most popular vehicles of the past 30 years, plus additional coverage of specialty models. ChiltonLibrary.com gives you the confidence to service or repair virtually any system on your vehicle.

EBSCO Explora
Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with rich, reliable content and easy-to-use functionality.

EBSCOhost
EBSCOhost offers a broad range of full text and bibliographic databases designed for research. This includes:
Auto Repair Reference Center Beta | Biography Reference Center | Business Book Summaries | Business Research | Consumer Health Complete | Criminal Justice | eBook Collection | eBook Poetry & Short Story Reference Center | Explora | Explora for Elementary School Students | Explora for Public Libraries | Explora for Secondary Schools | Explora Educator's Edition | Health & Medical | History & Culture | History Reference Center | Legal Collection | Legal Information Reference Center | Literary Reference Center | Miltiary Intelligence & ISCTRC | Military Transition Support Center | Newspaper Research | Periodical Search | Points of View Reference Center | Points of View | Rehabilitation Reference Center | Science & Technology Collection | Science Reference Center | Small Business Reference Center | Small Engine Repair Reference Center | Social Science

Freegal
Freegal® is a free music service which offers access to about 7 million songs, including Sony Music’s catalog of legendary artists. The collection consists of music originating from over 80 countries covering more than 28,000 music labels.

GALE Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).

ImageQuest
The three million images consist of high-quality photographs, maps, and drawings of nearly everything in the world: from ladybugs to Lady Gaga, from Stonehenge to the Rolling Stones. The images come from 45 respected and diverse sources, including the British Library, DK Images, Getty Images, and the National Portrait Gallery, as well as Encyclopedia Britannica. All are rights cleared for noncommercial, educational use. The photographs are curated carefully, making this database a reliable, safe source for students of all ages.

Learning Express
The EBSCO LearningExpress DoD Test Prep supports active military, military families, guard and reserve personnel, and military affiliated civilians and retirees, providing access to educational resources that foster academic advancement, and strengthen job and career readiness. Access a variety of eLearning centers with related grouped content, such as helpful academic resources for every family member from elementary school through college-level skills. Core academic, computer and workplace preparation skills are incorporated to help service members and their families achieve personal goals in school, life and career.

Mango Languages
Mango Languages is a digital language learning program for learners of all levels, with courses in over 70 different foreign languages, 21 English Language Learning courses, and 44 specialty courses designed to celebrate world cultures. Each Mango lesson incorporates four key learning components: Vocabulary, Pronunciation, Grammar, and Culture. Mango’s language-learning methodology is designed to simulate the way people learn a foreign language when actually immersed in everyday, practical conversation. Furthermore, the organic style of Mango’s system allows students to build upon what they’ve learned as they progress. Mango Languages also offers over 40 streaming international movies via their Mango Premier feature. Mango Premier takes the rich cultural input of film and uses it as a medium to teach students language and cultural lessons.

MorningStar
Investment resource specialized in fund investing. Offers news, commentary, fund information, tutorial, tools and forums.

National Geographic Virtual Library
As journalism's most trusted name in exploration and discovery, National Geographic Virtual Library(NGVL) supports a range of scholarly research needs in the areas of science, history, technology, the environment, cultures, and more. NGVL brings the National Geographic Society to the library in a cross-searchable platform that fits the way today's students and patrons conduct their research.

NoveList Plus
Sometimes you know what you want to read—everyone is reading it and talking about it, or it’s your book club assignment, or it’s the sequel of the last book you loved. But sometimes you want to look around and be surprised by something new.
We’ve added a new service to our Library catalog. NoveList, an interactive database that specializes in readers’ advisory. NoveList Plus has reading recommendations for both fiction and nonfiction, for all ages. NoveList's expertise in books and reading means that you'll always get the best help for finding just the right books.

Online Courses
The MCCS Library Program is now offering Universal Class to eligible library patrons. This program provides a unique online education experience with a growing catalog of over 540 courses. Visit your library to set up an account, then use it anywhere.

Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. Drawing on acclaimed series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints, OVRC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.

RBdigital
Bringing the film-festival experience to you!

Indieflix offers a world of independent award-winning shorts, features and documentaries from more than 50 countries! Classic TV shows are also available. Unlimited, streaming access to film-festival hits, including Sundance, Cannes, Tribeca and more! No checkouts needed! Indieflix is available on all internet-enabled computers, tablets (including iPad and Android), and smart phones through the Web browser. You can also watch films on TV with Roku devices and Xbox. Library patrons can search for films by title, or browse films by channel. You can limit films according to length, country of origin, festival, genre, or age range. These films are not rated by the MPAA, so viewer discretion is advised. Please visit your installation library for access.

RBdigital Magazines
The MCCS Library Program is now offering patrons access to digital versions of over 260 magazines. RBdigital Magazines, the world's largest newsstand, offers full-color digital magazines for anytime, anywhere reading on desktops, mobile devices, and apps. Your library's collection of popular digital magazines includes both new and backlist titles with no holds, no checkout periods, and no limits.

Research in Context
Created specifically for middle-schoolers, Research in Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.

Scholastic BookFlix
BookFlix is a digital literacy resource that pairs classic video storybooks with related nonfiction titles to reinforce early reading skills and develop real-world knowledge. This cultivates key reading skills, supports reluctant readers and ELL students, and builds fluency, vocabulary, and reading comprehension.

Scholastic ScienceFlix
Offering dozens of units to supplement social studies and science core curricula learning, TrueFlix helps students improve literacy skills, build content-area knowledge, and cultivate the critical skills necessary for academic success and college and career readiness.

Scholastic TrueFlix
Offering dozens of units to supplement social studies and science core curricula learning, TrueFlix helps students improve literacy skills, build content-area knowledge, and cultivate the critical skills necessary for academic success and college and career readiness.

Spanish Reference Center
Spanish Reference Center is the only dual Spanish-language database that offers age-appropriate research content for everyone, from elementary students to those who are ready for more advanced work. Students can progress seamlessly from one database to the next, making it easy to find information that matches their reading level. It’s the perfect resource for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish.

Student Resources In Context
Student Resources In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a wide array of subjects. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

World Book Online
The World Book web site offers an encyclopedia, dictionary, atlas, homework help, study aids, and curriculum guides.

2019 ILS Training: LibGuides Components