Skip to main content

MCRD San Diego Library

Online Resources for Kids

Tutoring, Homework Help, Literacy Resources, Biography and Science Databases, as well as Encyclopedias, Image Catalogs, and more, all geared for kids and teens. 

All FREE and available from the comfort of your home! There are two ways to access:

Search for "The Morale, Welfare, and Recreation Digital Library" and create a Military One Source account to access the content. 

Scholastic BookFlix

BookFlix is a digital literacy resource that pairs classic video storybooks with related nonfiction titles to reinforce early reading skills and develop real-world knowledge. This cultivates key reading skills, supports reluctant readers and ELL students, and builds fluency, vocabulary, and reading comprehension.

Scholastic ScienceFlix

Offering dozens of units to supplement social studies and science core curricula learning, TrueFlix helps students improve literacy skills, build content-area knowledge, and cultivate the critical skills necessary for academic success and college and career readiness.

Scholastic TrueFlix

Offering dozens of units to supplement social studies and science core curricula learning, TrueFlix helps students improve literacy skills, build content-area knowledge, and cultivate the critical skills necessary for academic success and college and career readiness.

Scholastic go!

Providing credible, accurate, reliable content on almost every core-curricula subject, the Scholastic GO! Search engine offers endless resources for research in a multitude of media. Explore nonfiction texts, world newspapers, videos and more with this easy-to-navigate digital resource designed to strengthen content knowledge, vocabulary, and core proficiency skills.

Research in Context

Created specifically for middle-schoolers, Research in Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.

National Geographic Virtual Library

As journalism's most trusted name in exploration and discovery, National Geographic Virtual Library(NGVL) supports a range of scholarly research needs in the areas of science, history, technology, the environment, cultures, and more. NGVL brings the National Geographic Society to the library in a cross-searchable platform that fits the way today's students and patrons conduct their research.

World Book Online

The World Book web site offers an encyclopedia, dictionary, atlas, homework help, study aids, and curriculum guides.

Student Resources In Context

Student Resources In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a wide array of subjects. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

EBSCO eBook Cricket Media Collection

EBSCO eBook Cricket Media Collection includes 700 e-books suitable for children grades Pre-K through 8th. Cricket is an internationally recognized education company with award winning print content for children, families and educators. Cricket is focused on engage children in a wide variety of subjects and disciplines helping them explore and expand their worlds. Unlimited simultaneous checkout. Most eBooks available from this library can be downloaded and read offline on your computer or mobile device.

FreedomFlix

FreedomFlix is a digital literacy resource that brings history to life by capturing the dramatic and defining moments in American history. It features dynamic e-books of the Children Press best-selling Cornerstones of Freedom series that include embedded popup features such as maps, timelines, virtual tour clips primary source videos and audio clips.

The MCRD San Diego Library offers hundreds of picture books, board books, early readers, graphic novels for kids and young adults, and young adult fiction and non-fiction!

‚ÄčIn addition, newly released DVD movies for kids, and magazines specifically geared for kids are available for check out too!